project 1 - space and scale

Scale and space: assessment

Ok, I’ve finished working on this first project now. The final three images, which I did yesterday and this morning, are inspired by Paul Klee. I made three monoprints using sun, moon and stars as a theme and then enjoyed myself painting over the prints.

sun moon and stars 3, water-colour and ink on card, 43 cm x 30 cm
sun moon and stars 2, acrylic and ink on card, 43 cm x 30 cm
sun moon and stars, acrylic and ink on card, 43 cm x 30 cm

And here is a picture of most of the other work done on this project:

I have decided that I’ve passed this first project (I’m not grading it). It has made me think about how to capture the feeling of distance and scale. Comparing my DIY degree with the Foundation in Art and Design that I did last year,  I haven’t done as much work as I would have done on the Foundation programme and I’ve missed the imput from my tutors. However, I’m still pleased with how productive I’ve been. During the summer before starting on the DIY course I’d been apprehensive that I would be motivated to get down to work.

Doing this blog is helping in that respect.

2 thoughts on “Scale and space: assessment”

  1. Alison,
    I’m becoming your No. 1 fan!
    I love these 3 works and although the base is the same, they are so strong, yet so different. Lesley’s favourite is the second one. I love the obviously Paul Klee inspired one. I can feel the warmth of the third one.
    Looking forward to the next project.

Leave a Reply

