project 2 - light

light : luminosity

I’ve been exploring images of light shining through things. My starting points have been our local newsagent’s window, lit up in the early morning, light shining through a vase, kaleidoscope,  gemstones, and stained glass. For the newsagents images I created strong black lines by mono printing and then painted over in acrylic and watercolour.

photo
 
 
acrylic
 
 
 
 
water colour
 
acyrlic

Thinking about stained glass – and trying to get the feeling of luminosity – I’ve taken two  sketches (the first of a digger, the second is a vase) and improvised some colours around them:

I’m now going to review all the pictures I’ve made for this project and think about which ideas are worth developing. There’s one more which I might work on: I’ve taken some photos of the Royal Infirmary at twilight time – I like the contrast between the dark silhouettes of the trees in the foreground, and the illuminated building behind.

2 thoughts on “light : luminosity”

  1. Alison,
    I don’t know whether you are incredibly talented or whether you learnt an amazing amount on the foundation course. I suspect a combination of the two. The picture of the vase really appeals to me. I think I have a long way to go before I can produce a ‘meaningful’ abstract!

    1. I learnt tons on the Foundation in Art and Design – it really moved me along and I’m trying to keep the momentum going. I think that some of what I do is at the decorative, ‘design’ end of the spectrum, rather than being ‘fine art’ – but I’m relaxed about that.

Leave a Reply

