light: luminosity two

I’ve made a collage based  on the twilight photo’s I took of the Leicester Royal Infirmary (see earlier blog, Light: Luminosity). I’ve achieved what I wanted – which is to capture the lights behind the hospital windows against a purple sky,  but with some big bare trees silhouetted in the foreground, and the lights of cars going by.

 

 

I’ve finished the life class course now. In the final two weeks we had one pose – 5 hours in all. I used acrylics on a canvas 3′ x 2′. I painted over the whole thing twice, and I’m still not happy with it. However, I’m going to treat this as  a starting point for an oil painting. I will treat it as a study by taking a painter I admire and I’ll copy their style. Not sure exactly who at this stage but I’ll have some fun researching. This is going to be a Christmas project.

Leave a Reply

