project 3 - change and decay

change and decay: rotten apples

I’ve completed just a few more preliminary sketches this week. With the rotten apples I’ve tried to capture the sagging, folded, wrinkled, old leather look of the skin. I’m reasonably satisfied, and I think I can take this further.

The poppy heads haven’t worked  – they look clumsy and too solid, rather than fragile. This reminds me that I need to have a clear intention at the outset. In this case, I just started drawing without thinking about the qualities I wanted to explore. Also I’m still too literal.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Finally the acanthus is OK but the one I posted earlier has a more spiky, edgy look.

 

Leave a Reply

