change and decay – seeing treasure in the compost heap

I’ve just finished a picture where I took a few random photos of the compost heap to give a possible starting point.

      

                      I sketched out a couple of compositions from the above:

In these two sketches I was looking for strong diagonals. Also I decided to try a square composition. Why? Simply because the compost heap is square, and I was interested in creating a pattern rather than something representative. Next I did a colour palette.

I wanted to have a contrast of jewel-like colours with more muted ones, plus a contrast of cool and warm. Bringing it together, I started on the picture in acrylics; this shows work in progress:

and this is the final version:

I’ve achieved what I intended, which is a lively and colourful image, but I had something more intricate in my mind’s eye at the outset.  There is also something menacing about this picture, which I hadn’t intended.

Leave a Reply

