Aylestone canal and British Museum

Before Christmas I took some photos of the canal in Aylestone at sunset. I liked the intensity of the sun on the trees and branches and the contrast with the darker sky and reflections. I had a go at capturing this from the photo in water-colour and oil paint.

canal sunset

This next one is the oil painting. I’m pleased with the light effect on the trees and with the reflections, but overall I consider this effort as a learning exercise. I need to work more at how to handle paint.

canal sunset 001

The next two are watercolours.

canal sunset 003

canal sunset 005

I spent a couple of hours in the British Museum on Saturday and made a few sketches. I though I’d come away full of inspiration and ideas, but I didn’t. I’ve used an editor to liven up some of these images.

Leave a Reply

