Uncategorized

Cote D’Azur

I liked this picture in the paper because of the play of light and shade and hot and cool colours, so I’ve had a go at painting it.

photo in paper
photo in paper

Stage one was to paint quickly and very loosely.

first effort in acrylics
first effort in acrylics

Then I added some more dark areas.

stage two
stage two

 

 

 

 

 

 

I think you need a lot of skill and dexterity and confidence  to make this free approach look interesting. This just looks clumsy to me.  Then I tried a watercolour version.

watercolour
watercolour

The final version, below, has more detail. I’ve worked over this painting about 5 times so now is the time to stop.

finished version
finished version

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

